City Hall Debating 2017

Home / City Hall Debating 2017

City Hall Debating

.full-width-5d5810c7c0bd6 { min-height:160px; padding:20px 0 10px; margin-bottom:10px; } #background-layer--5d5810c7c0bd6 { background-image:url(; background-position:left top; background-repeat:repeat; ; } .mk-main-wrapper { display: none; } #theme-page { padding-top:0; }

Event Summary

On the 28th of February, young people from schools all across London participated in a debating event at London City Hall, that we delivered in partnership with London Schools Debating Association (LSDA). LSDA was founded by Anwulika Elliott and Natalia Rowczenio, who are also members of the Model Westminster Youth Advisory Board. The event included debate training and a competition.

Schools that were represented included;
Cardinal Vaughan Memorial School, The London Oratory School, St. Marylebone School and St. Dominic’s Sixth Form College.

The Judges of the competition were:
Tony Koutsoumbos, Director of the Great Debaters Club,
Azzees Minott, Co-Founder of 2-3 Degrees

The evening began with a talk by Tony on the basics of debating and how to approach the competition. We then moved onto the competition part of the evening, where teams from each school went head to head against each other over motions that they only had 6 minutes to prepare for!

The motions were:
1. This house believes the government should not be able to view the public’s internet history.
2. This house would ban private schools
3. This House believes all internships should be paid.
4. This house would would return art to its original country if deemed to be culturally or historically significant.
5. This house would impose a tax on sugary goods.
6. This House would introduce a UK maximum wage.
7. This house believes that the UK public should be offered a 2nd referendum to ratify any deal for leaving the EU.

The judges were all very impressed by the standard of debating, but in the end there could be only one winner! Congratulations to St. Dominic’s B for winning the competition.

Congratulations also to Alice Dermody-Palmer and Katrina Goodwin for jointly winning the award for Best Individual Speaker.

We took loads of photos at the event. You can see a sample of them below. Click here to view all of them.

.full-width-5d5810c7c3faa { min-height:100px; padding:10px 0 10px; margin-bottom:0px; } #background-layer--5d5810c7c3faa { background-position:left top; background-repeat:repeat; ; }
Contact Us

Drop us a line and we'll get back to you as soon as possible.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt